Philadelphia Real Estate Helpful News and Views : Is There Home Inspection Etiquette ?

Is There Home Inspection Etiquette ?

electrical

Recently I had a home inspection on a property it was one of my listings . It was a vacant listing the sale did not go through . My seller who is very conscientious checks on this property weekly  . When she walked into the property she found the electrical panel box sitting on the floor . There was an electrical outlet plug  left unscrewed from the wall . The radon canisters that were supposed to be picked up still there . There were also footprints on the pool table above which hung a light fixture . Needless to say the seller  was very upset .

 

Sitting on the kitchen counter was the buyers agents business  card . Instead of calling me she called the agent as she was very upset . She wanted to know why her house was left like this . She also demanded the radon canisters be removed immediately . They had been sitting there for five days longer then it should have  . The seller then called me .  I was also upset but we both agreed it would not get us anywhere .

radon canister

The house is back on the market so  having radon canisters hanging is not something  that should be there  . The other agent promised the canisters would be removed that day (was not )  and apologized . 

 

An Electrician is going over tomorrow to fix the other items . Now the flood lights are on we do not know how to shut them off . Today I finally received a call from the radon company asking for access to pick up the canisters   Hopefully they remove them

 

The 10 most common things to expect from a home inspection 

 

Would you as a buyer's agent call the listing agent to explain or just lock up and leave the house ?

 

 

Is There Home Inspection Etiquette ?

hannah williams

 remax logo

 

Re/Max Eastern

 215 953 8800

215 953 8818

 cell anytime  215 820 3376

HannahRemax@Gmail.Com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

copy protected

 

To SEARCH for HOMES PLEASE VISIT HELPFULHANNAH.COM

 

                            FacebookYouTubeLinkinblog sitetweet follow me on twitterGoogle Plus

 

                                                                    Follow Me on Pinterest

 

 

Comment balloon 87 commentsHannah Williams • May 22 2018 04:34PM

Comments

Good afternoon Hannah - get the name of that inspector and make sure he is never recommended.

Posted by Grant Schneider, Your Coach Helping You Create Successful Outcomes (Performance Development Strategies) 4 months ago

Grant Schneider He was very rude when I spoke with him . He was afraid to pick up the canisters if the seller was going to be there .Can you believe it

Thank you for your comment

Hannah

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

Hi Hannah Williams, I can't believe you would even need to have a conversation with the buyer's agent and the inspector on how to lock up/clean up after themselves. I've been seeing a lot of crazy things lately. 

Posted by Beth Atalay, Cam Realty of Clermont FL (Cam Realty and Property Management) 4 months ago

Beth Atalay  It was a waste of my breathe . They thought they were right you should have heard them . I also have been running into crazy situations . I have an agent who a transaction that does not answer my calls or text messages . I end up doing both sides of the transactions .

Thank you for your professional input

Hannah

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

Hannah in this case the proper etiquette should have been common sense by  the Home Inspectors.

Posted by George Souto, Your Connecticut Mortgage Expert (George Souto NMLS #65149 FHA, CHFA, VA Mortgages) 4 months ago

George Souto  I have to agree with you .The home inspectors I use would have never left a home like this 

Thank you for your professional input

Hannah

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

Home inspectors should be as professional as we are!

Posted by Mike Frazier, Northwest Tennessee Realtor (Carousel Realty of Dyer County) 4 months ago

It is crazy out there, I had a buyer recently use a home inspector he found on home advisor, guy refused to walk the roof, looked at it with binoculars, proclaimed there was no ridge vent, when I could see the ridge vent without binoculars. In the house, he fiddled with every door for several minutes making sure they would close and lock, but refused to open the panel behind the bath to check the plumbing. Then walks outside, looks at the trees and tells the buyer to reconsider buying the home as there were several large trees close to the house. I asked him if he was a tree surgeon and how could he comment on the state of the trees. The sale fell through.

Posted by Nick & Trudy Vandekar, 610-203-4543, Tredyffrin Easttown Realtors, Philly Main Line (Long & Foster Real Estate Inc 610-225-7400) 4 months ago

That's totally outrageous, Hannah.  I'd find out who that inspector was and make sure he doesn't step into another one of your listings EVER!  There is etiquette and then there is common sense and common courtesy, neither of which should need explaining. 

Posted by Carol Williams, "Customized Mentoring & Marketing Services" (U.S.: I specialize in helping agents who have been in the business 2 years or less create a thriving business.) 4 months ago

Hannah,

Ron and I sat in on an ispection last week for one of our clients who was away on a family vacation.  We had referred the property to her.  The inspector was a gem, and everything was perfectly done.  The buyer's broker was equally wonderful.  It is such a pleasure to work with professionals.  A

Posted by Ron and Alexandra Seigel, Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy (Napa Consultants) 4 months ago

Hello, Hannah, I suggest getting an inspector whom you can trust with work. Thanks for sharing! Have a great Day!

Posted by James Grant 4 months ago

HI Hannah Williams - I generally am at the inspection if it is my listing. I am also there for my buyer, though I may be in and out especially if it is an inspector I know.  The worst thing that has happened is a buyer brought the whole family to the inspection. The expression on my face said it all.

Personally, I would do as you did, take pictures and bring those pics to the attention of the listing agent and I would find out who that inspector is and make sure I am there if a future buyer employs him or her.  I would have an "expectations" talk as I opened the house up.

Posted by Sheri Sperry - MCNE®, (928) 274-7355 ~ YOUR Solutions REALTOR® (Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage) 4 months ago

Mike Frazier  Yes they should

Nick & Trudy Vandekar, 610-203-4543  Sounds like a nightmare makes you wonder doesn't it ?  It is so frustrating

Carol Williams  He was so rude when i spoke to him. Then he did not want to pick up the radon canisters because he said the sellers were  rude about how they left the house . You can bet I will give an agent trouble if he is the inspector . 

Thank you for your professional input

Hannah

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

Ron and Alexandra Seigel  If I had an incident like this I would have contacted the listing agent and notified them of the condition of the property . I would never allow an inspector to leave a property in this condition . The inspectors I recommend would not leave a property like this.

James Grant  It is not my decision to choose the Home Inspector it is the buyer who chooses the inspector . I was the agent for the seller .

Sheri Sperry - MCNE®  As long as the buyers agent is present  it is not customary for the sellers agent to be present in our area . I also knew and spoke with the agent after the inspection and she never mentioned there was a problem or anything was not put back properly .  I am very disappointed this was not disclosed to me . Next time I may have to show up at the end of the inspection especially when it is vacant  .

Thank you for your professional opinions

Hannah

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

I had a home inspection last Fourth of July and my inspector asked me if e wants if we wanted him to replace the items that he found to be not within  Code when he took it apart I told him to put it back the way it was Hannah Williams 

Posted by Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®,CRS,, Tacoma Washington Agent/Broker & Market Authority! (RE/MAX Professionals.) 4 months ago

Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®,CRS,  Really makes you wonder doesn't it . At least you had him put it back the way it was .  This guy took it off  and left it there

Thank you for your professional input

Hannah

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

 Hannah - If I were that BA I would make sure the inspector left things as he/she found them. Period. That is totally unacceptable behavior.

Posted by Anna Banana Kruchten CRB, CRS 602-380-4886, Arizona's Top Banana! (Phoenix Property Shoppe) 4 months ago

Hi Hannah- this sounds totally unacceptable. I would definitely bring it to the attention of the Home Inspection company as well as the buyer's agent. 

Posted by Kathy Streib, Home Stager - Palm Beach County,FL -561-914-6224 (Room Service Home Staging) 4 months ago

Yes there is and no, it wasn't followed in your case. I would be livid too.  Our contracts actually state that the home inspection is not to do any damage to the home and things are to be as they were found. 

The buyer's agent and that inspector would both get an earful from me and if I thought it might have created an issue with a subsequent showing we'd be talking to the managing broker and potentially the state.  

Posted by Dan Tabit (Keller Williams Bellevue) 4 months ago

One particular listing and I got a call after an inspection, from a neighbor. Not only did the inspector leave a mess but left the door unsecured. The vertical blinds were blowing in the wind out the back patio doors. The doors were standing open a good foot. Fast food debris on the bar counter, and floors. It stunk. I called the agent then called the inspector. I asked the agent how many people were there because he should've seen to it also that it was cleaned up. He said he wasn't a baby sitter! I told my broker about it. I took photos as soon as I walked in and text them to my broker. Some agents don't check their Supra notifications. I lived close enough (10 minute drive). Got there about an hour after they left. The house had been unsecured that long at least!...Etiquette and respect go hand in hand! Clean / pick up after yourself and if need be your clients. Get after any vendors and give them the whatfors and report their inconsiderations and stupidity. Too much is at stake! We know how vandals can be lurking around the corner!!

 

Posted by Theresa Akin (CORPUS CHRISTI REALTY GROUP) 4 months ago

Hannah Williams - That was outrageous! I never had anything like that happened. I can't believe your seller called the buyers agent and not you. 

By now, the property is back on the market. I hope it sells quickly without any further stress to the Seller or yourself. 

Posted by Patricia Feager, Selling Homes Changing Lives (DFW FINE PROPERTIES) 4 months ago

Bad business and I sure would mark him far off my list. It leaves us apologizing and taking the responsibility. The seller had a right to be upset.

Posted by Debbie Reynolds, Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent (Platinum Properties) 4 months ago

In my world we as listing agents are present during the inspections and I know this is a controversial topic, here in Los Angeles, & Boston that is how we did and do things, needless to say half could have been prevented no with the Radon... After the time was up if they did not pick it up it would be in the Trash but that is just me, Endre

Posted by Endre Barath, Jr., Realtor - Los Angeles Home Sales 310.486.1002 (Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices) 4 months ago

Morning Hannah.

Not only would I call the agent, I would call their broker and raise all kinds of Hell.  

Posted by James Dray, Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results (Fathom Realty AR LLC) 4 months ago

Good morning Hannah.  I would definitely call the listing agent as well as have a conversation with the inspector.

Posted by Gabe Sanders, Stuart Florida Real Estate (Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales) 4 months ago

When I'm the buyer's agent, I'm there with the buyers and the inspector for the entire inspection, and if anyone left any outlet/etc in that condition, I'd request that they put it back.  If I was the listing agent and found a home left in that condition, you can bet that inspector would never be permitted back in.

Posted by Kat Palmiotti, The House Kat (Grand Lux Realty, Monroe NY, 914-419-0270, kat@thehousekat.com) 4 months ago

Like here in NH where inspectors are not licensed, you get from one extreme to the other. It is why I attend all inspections to look out for the seller and the property. Stay close enough to hear but not in the way. AND if they have not put anything back together, i make sure they do before they leave

Posted by Scott Godzyk, One of Manchester NH's Leading Agents (Godzyk Real Estate Services) 4 months ago

Congratulations on your feature recognition.

More good reasons for the listing agent to be present at home inspections.

Posted by Roy Kelley, Roy and Dolores Kelley Photographs (Realty Group Referrals) 4 months ago

Hannah, this is beyond unacceptable. I would be tracking that inspector down and letting him know he's unprofessional and that I'll be telling everyone I know to steer clear. To leave someones home like this is unbelievable. 

Posted by Amanda S. Davidson, Alexandria Virginia Homes For Sale (Amanda Davidson Real Estate Group) 4 months ago

Best story ever - instead of calling me, the listing agent, to say he couldn't get attic access because a car was parked under the attic pull down, he used the MERCEDES hood to get up in the attic opening.  Yea, footprints on the Mercedes.  What a moron! 

Posted by Jeanne Gregory, The most important home I sell is YOURS! (RE/MAX Southwest) 4 months ago

As buyers agents we are required to attend - my area, and is it any wonder the public does not trust this industry. Many high prced sellers are asking listing agents to attend as well, just to look after the house! 

Posted by Corinne Guest, Luxury Home Buyer Specialist (Barrington Realty Company) 4 months ago

If an owner did all this, I would pitch to them they need an agent citing these causes & reasons. If an agent is doing this, its a poor business model. No excuses

Posted by Richie Alan Naggar, agent & author (people first...then business Ran Right Realty ) 4 months ago

What a terrible representation for the home inspector business.

I am very careful as to who I recommend. I want to know them and their work.

Apparently some agents are not so attentive.

Posted by John Wiley, Lee County, FL Real Estate GRI, SRES,GREEN,PSA (Right Move Real Estate Group- EXP Realty) 4 months ago

Pure carelessness has no place in home inspections.  The biggest violation I have had was inspectors turning things off by accident, or unplugging them on purpose to get to something, but not plugging back in.  One seller thought her A/C was broken, as the switch had been turned off. Another lost an entire coffin freezer of food when the inspector unplugged it and never plugged it back in.  So unprofessional.

Posted by Chris Ann Cleland, Associate Broker, Bristow, VA (Long and Foster REALTORS®, Gainesville, VA) 4 months ago

Anna Banana Kruchten CRB, CRS, Broker  I agree 100 % I would not have let an inspector leave a house like that . I also would have certainly called the listing agent to inform

Kathy Streib  The Home Inspector was very rude to say the least and the agent  thought the seller was wrong it was a loosing battle

Dan Tabit  The seller and I both decided it was best to move on . Put the house back on the market find a new buyer . You can best believe we will be asking who the Home Inspector will be and I will be stopping by .  The seller is also having a licensed electrician checking the electrical work

Thank you for your professional input

Hannah

 

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

Theresa Akin  It blows my mind how some  professionals behave . I had a Home Inspector do an inspection on one of my listings that had work done on it . One of the worker forgot to reconnect a pipe when putting in a new sink . Instead of making a big deal of it he put every thing in the right perspective for the buyer when water came gushing out all over the floor .  I was so impressed with the way he handled the situation . I still use this Inspector to this day ... He also went out to his truck to get rags and cleaned up all the water

Thank you for your input very much appreciated

Hannah

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

Patricia Feager  She called me afterward . I was glad she gave her a piece of her mind . Yes the property is back on the market with appointments scheduled

Debbie Reynolds  She most certainly did . I stopped there and could not believe that a Home Instector would leave a property like that .

Endre Barath, Jr.  The Inspector and agent were told if the radon canisters were not picked up they were going to be  disposed of .  As far as being present at the home Inspection if the agent was not going to present  I would have gone . Perhaps I should rethink these actions in the future .

Thnk you for your professional input

Hannah

 

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

James Dray  That would be a waste of time

Gabe Sanders  I am glad you agree but it went in one ear and out the other

Kat Palmiotti  We are on the same page - by the way I love your new picture

Scott Godzyk  Inspectors have to be licensed in Pennsylvania but I wonder about this guy . Regardless it does not give him the right to leave a house any way other than that in which he found it .  My name and number were on the sign so there was no excuse . Plus the agent should have informed me . I would have never left a house like that and not informed the listing agent

Thank you for your input it is very much appreciated

Hannah

 

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

Roy Kelley  Your continued support is greatly appreciated

Jeanne Gregory  Really makes you wonder doesn't it . So lazy he may have had to wait a few minutes

Corinne Guest, Managing Broker  Many buyers agents here do not go to inspections . They feel it is an added liability . Personally I think they are lazy When I know they are not going I always  attend the inspections . I may rethink my position .

Thank you for your professional input

Hannah

 

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

John Wiley The agent thinks this company is the best . Arguing with the agent was useless and to no avail . It was best to just have a release signed ASAP and move on . This kind of behavior is filed in my head for next time .

Chris Ann Cleland  That is horrid . I suppose the inspector did not make good on the food ??  I had an inspector break a Hummel figurine that was on a window sill when testing if windows opened and closed . He never said anything and claimed it was like that .

Thank you both for your professional input

Hannah

 

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

The inspector made good on the food when he was forced too.  It was sad that he had to be forced.  

Posted by Chris Ann Cleland, Associate Broker, Bristow, VA (Long and Foster REALTORS®, Gainesville, VA) 4 months ago

I'd have my attorney send the inspector a bill for the  repairs.

Posted by Tammy Lankford,, Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville (Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668) 4 months ago

Good lord, that is an outrageous home inspection outcome.  I've had really good luck with most inspectors.  However, I did have one that missed a rafter when he was up in the attic, and stepped on the ceiling sheetrock, and his food came through.  However, he immediately fixed the ceiling, and repainted the room to match.  It was better than new.

Posted by Myrl Jeffcoat, Greater Sacramento Real Estate Agent (GreatWest Realty) 4 months ago

CONGRATULATIONS Hannah, on having this blog FEATURED in the Old Farts Club group!    

Posted by Myrl Jeffcoat, Greater Sacramento Real Estate Agent (GreatWest Realty) 4 months ago

This is a perfect example why Larry is at all our home inspections. Definitely would have called the other agent...

Posted by Lawrence "Larry" & Sheila Agranoff. Cell: 631-805-4400, Long Island Condo & Home Sale Specialists (The Top Team @ Charles Rutenberg Realty 255 Executive Dr, Plainview NY 11803) 4 months ago

Hannah, that inspector and agent should be shot!   That is awful behavior.  So sorry to hear you and your Seller had to go through this.

Posted by Joan Cox, Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time (Metro Brokers - House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373) 4 months ago

Hello Hannah,

Interesting post my friend, congrats on the Gold Star from the AR God's, featured to the group:

EXPRESS WITH WORDS AT ACTIVERAIN

Bgpic09212009022557 l
And the plug-in to the electrical outlet is upside down ;o)
Posted by Robert Vegas Bob Swetz, Las Vegas Henderson Homes for Sale (Realty ONE Group) 4 months ago

What a terrible experience, Hannah! Fortunately, I've never had such a situation with an inspector, but I can tell you if I'd had it would have been a strongly worded conversation with him and his agent along with a letter of complaint to our states inspection board and to the agent. I'd probably also have pulled those cannisters and tossed them at a certain point. 

Posted by Nina Hollander, Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor (Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage | Charlotte, NC) 4 months ago

Chris Ann Cleland  That is good to hear but as you said it is sad he had to be forced

Tammy Lankford,  It is not worth the time or expense . My blood pressure is already through the roof . The seller and I agreed it was best to have a release signed ASAP  and move forward

Joan Cox  when i complained to the inspector he said his son inspected the property and the  electrical work was faulty . That is no excuse for not putting anything back the way he found it . The seller has an electrician coming this week to inspect ..

Thank you for your comments they are very much appreciated

Hannah

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

Myrl Jeffcoat  I even know you do not step on a rafter (from past experience ) This is why Home Inspectors carry insurance . You can best believe I will give an agent a hard time if their buyers  are planning to use this Inspector .

Thank you so much for the Feature

CONGRATULATIONS Hannah, on having this blog FEATURED in the Old Farts Club group!    

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

Lawrence "Larry" & Sheila Agranoff. Cell: 631-805-4400  Knowing this agent I am very surprised that I did not receive a call or that the Home Inspector was allowed to leave this property in this condition . I do like to give the buyer and agent the respect of privacy to discuss what they want to do .  I may re-think this I may not . I certainly will give it thought .

Nina Hollander  I did speak to everyone concerned . Writing letters may make one feel better but I do not think it necessarily would get anything really solved in this situation . The seller just wanted to get out of the sale . We did get the radon canisters removed the next day . Believe me they would have been disposed of if they were not .

Thank you both for your professional input it is greatly appreciated

Hannah

 

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

Thank you Robert Vegas Bob Swetz 

EXPRESS WITH WORDS AT ACTIVERAIN

Bgpic09212009022557 l
Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

Hello Hannah,

I am a new member here on active rain, Today I posted my first blog I think you would really like it after reading your issue with your home inspector.

I am a home inspector and a former G.C. from Atlanta, where I had a great home repair business for 15 years +. With the help of my 5 crews we repaired and or replaced everything on the home to many peoples liking.

I invested in real estate until 2008 when I lost a few homes as they dropped in price so bad I had to give up my business. 

I worked for comany after that as a Senior project Manager, where one of my jobs was starting a home inspection section within the company as we purchased distressed homes in Atlanta and flipped them.

Any way my first blog is all about how a home Inspector should properly act and behave. I am of Swiss decent and have a  very strict outlook on how to respect  ( especially someone elses) Home.

If you get a chance to read my blog I would really appreciate your feed back.

Thanks Ron Lucas

New kid on the Block

Posted by Ron Lucas, Serving the Treasure Coast and BEYOND (Seek and Find Home/Building Inspections PLLC) 4 months ago

Oh my gosh, what a HORRIBLE story, Hannah! I'm so sorry that you and your seller had to go through this - I can't imagine! I've had inspectors break things before but, they always notify the listing agent and pay for the repair/replacement. 

I hope your listing is back under Contract with someone more professional! Good luck to you and your seller.

Posted by Debe Maxwell, CRS, Charlotte Homes for Sale - Charlotte Neighborhoods (www.AtHomesCharlotte.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310) 4 months ago

It's completely irresponsible and VERY unsafe for the inspectior to leave the cover off the electric panel.  Additionally, standing on a pool table is a definite no-no.  In NJ, inspectors are forbidden from touching personl items other than those being inspected.  Footprints on a pool table are inexcusable.  I also question whether those radon canisters were properly set,  It seems like you have an inexperienced, unprofessional, and/or poor inspector.

Posted by Rafi Footerman, Home Inspector, Mold Inspector, Radon and More! (Mid Jersey Inspections) 4 months ago

I had an inspector remove several baseboards, disconnect the hot water heater and disconnect and reposition the washer/ dryer in one home.   To make a long story brief, the situation was handled ASAP by the agents and a licensed plumber.

Posted by Sharon Parisi, Dallas Homes (United Real Estate Dallas ) 4 months ago

Hello Hannah - stuff can and does happen but there's always room/opportunity tone polite/professional. 

Posted by Michael Jacobs, Los Angeles Pasadena Area Real Estate 818.516.4393 (Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage) 4 months ago

Hello Hannah,  Inspectors are ones to be trusted and finding a good one is important for a realtors.

 

Posted by Will Hamm, "Where There's a Will, There's a Way!" (Hamm Homes) 4 months ago

Ron Lucas  Yes those years were tough for many . I will be happy to read   your post .

Debe Maxwell, CRS  What can I say that has not been said . I was surprised the agent did not notify me as I would have immediately called the listing agent if the situation had been reversed .

Thank you both for your input

Hannah

 

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

Rafi Footerman  I was wondering about the radon canisters myself . I had never seen alone attach them to a railing like that

Sharon Parisi  Makes you wonder what the agent was doing or if the agent was there for the whole inspection . We are just glad to be out of the sale Michael Jacobs  Put quite eloquently

Will Hamm  I am very careful whom my buyers choose but I also would never allow a home inspector to leave a house in that condition . If there was a serious problem I would call the listing agent immediately before locking up the house . That is my responsibility

Thank you for your professional input

Hannah

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

I'd expect nothing less from a home inspector than I do from any other home service professional, Hannah Williams.  They should perform their services at the highest level of competence and respect the property (and the owner) where they are performing their services.  I don't think that's too much to ask ...

Gene

Posted by Gene Mundt, IL/WI Mortgage Originator - FHA/VA/Conv/Jumbo/Portfolio/Refi, 708.921.6331 - 40+ yrs experience (NMLS #216987, IL Lic. 031.0006220, WI Licensed. APMC NMLS #175656) 4 months ago

Oh my goodness, what a terrible thing to do  - the inspector and the agent. That's sloppy. During an inspection, you are supposed to leave the home in the same condition as it was.  I would have been furious - I'm sure you are thrilled this sale didn't move forward. I wouldn't want to work with someone who lacks common sense and good manners. 

Posted by Debb Janes EcoBroker and Bernie Stea JD, REALTORS® in Clark County, WA (ViewHomes of Clark County - Nature As Neighbors) 4 months ago

Gene Mundt, IL/WI Mortgage Originator - FHA/VA/Conv/Jumbo/Portfolio/Refi  My thoughts exactly . I would not show a home and leave it in disarray nor should a Home Inspector . In my humble opinion an agent is responsible to see the Home Inspector does so and if he does not notify the listing agent .

Debb Janes EcoBroker and Bernie Stea JD  Needless to say my blood pressure was up as was the sellers but we both agreed the best solution was here was to remain calm and have a release from the agreement signed . House is now back on the market

Thank you both for your comments

Hannah

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

What a nightmare Hannah. I'm glad the radon company is coming out to take care of the canisters.

Posted by Sybil Campbell, REALTOR® ABR, SFR, SRES Williamsburg, Virginia (Long and Foster REALTORS® 5234 Monticello Ave Williamsburg, Virginia) 4 months ago

Sybil Campbell  he gave me a hard time . I called the agent and said if it wasn't picked up they were going in the trash .  Love your new picture

Thank your for your professional input

Hannah

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

I understand.  There have been times I just wrote a check to make it go away because in the end it was the least costly thing to do.

Posted by Tammy Lankford,, Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville (Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668) 4 months ago

My clients seem to be paying more for less service. I have had  Charles Buell do an inspection for me and he is hard to beat when we talk professionalism Hannah Williams 

Posted by Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®,CRS,, Tacoma Washington Agent/Broker & Market Authority! (RE/MAX Professionals.) 4 months ago

Hi Hannah, I really hate stories like this---whether it is about home inspectors or agents.  I think the market place generally takes care of both, but certainly better training would help.  Some inspectors and agents have the technical side down pat, but don't realize people skills are in some ways more important.

Posted by Charles Buell, Seattle Home Inspector (Charles Buell Inspections Inc.) 4 months ago

Tammy Lankford,  You should not have to put money out of your pocket

Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®,CRS,  You are fortunate to have Charles in your area . I too have a wonderful Home inspector who would never leave a house in such disarray

Charles Buell  People skills are so important . They can make and break a deal Let's face it no house is perfect  . It is important how issues are addressed

Thank you for your profession input

Hannah

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

This is terrible and I would not have been happy if I were the seller.

My issue with inspectors is that depending on who you have, the results can vary greatly. We had to pay for things on the home we sold (noted by inspector) only to have the same issues not detected on the home we purchased. So frustrating.

Posted by Sharon Tara, New Hampshire Home Stager (Sharon Tara Transformations) 4 months ago

There are several dozen inspectors in my area and as you know, all are not created equally. There are some I truly trust and others I has to hold my breath on. So sorry you had to deal with this.

Posted by Debbie Reynolds, Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent (Platinum Properties) 4 months ago

Yes, Hannah Williams there is home inspection etiquette and home 🏠 inspection protocol. That company won’t be getting your business for future buyers which they probably didn’t consider while standing on the pool table. 

Posted by Suzanne Strickler, School is never out for the Succesful. (Realty Mark Associates) 4 months ago

Sharon Tara  You really have to wonder about some of these inspections don't you ?

Debbie Reynolds  There was a Home Inspector who was notorious for bragging that he would shot down the first two houses a buyer called him to inspect  as he knew they would call him for the third inspection . When I would hear his name I knew the house was going back on the market . I have not heard his name in several years perhaps he moved to a warm climate or retired .

Suzanne Strickler  I was horrified when I saw what happened and spoke with this inspector .  It is not always what they find but how it is presented to the buyer . There is never a perfect house . When purchasing a house you will always find something that needs to be done . An inspector  needs to put it in the right perspective . He said the electrical system was faulty and left the cover off the main box . The seller had a licensed  electrician come out and inspect giving it a seal of approval .  Go figure .... back to your comment  - I would not recommend no way no how

Thank you for your professional input

Hannah

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

That's just bizarre that so much was left unfinished and not reassembled.  About the worst we've had is a seller's candy cane basket broken.  We had just seen a TV show about making them, so tracked down the manufacturer and bought a replacement for her.  She was so happy!  Bill

Posted by Liz and Bill Spear, RE/MAX Elite Warren County OH (Cincinnati/Dayton) (RE/MAX Elite 513.520.5305 www.LizTour.com) 4 months ago

Oh yes this guy was so unprofessional Liz and Bill Spear .  I was very surprised at the agent as I worked with her at another Re/Max office and expected more from her . Best to move put the house back on the market  . There is a reshow today .

Thank you for your professional input

Hannah

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

Hannah,

 I recently had an inspection here where the inspector was so off quoting what he thought should be done not code and commenting on cosmetics!

Posted by Yolanda Cordova-Gilbert 4 months ago

Yolanda Cordova-Gilbert  Sometimes they just want to show their worth .. what is wrong with saying  you are buying a good house ?

Thank you for your professional  input

Hannah

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

I feel so fortunate to have found an inspector who I have been using for years.  He has always been skillful at relaying issues in a positive manner when possible and protecting my buyers from things that are major defects.  He leaves every home like he found it and sometimes, even better.  If an item is just a loose screw or a tiny issue, he will usually remedy it himself or show me how easily it can be done and at little or no cost.  Having utilized some not quite so good in the past, I am thankful to have found him.

Posted by Marnie Matarese, Showing you the best of Sarasota! (DWELL REAL ESTATE) 4 months ago

I would have called the home INSPECTOR or his company and have him put the house back together the way he found it. I realize the inspectors must have access to the electrical panel and everything system of the house, but he must be licensed and act responsibly, and do no damage. I'm sorry the sale fell through.

Posted by Pat Starnes-Front Gate Realty, 601-991-2900 Office; 601-278-4513 Cell (Front Gate Real Estate) 4 months ago

Marnie Matarese  I found a Home Inspector at one of my listings who presented a small issue in such a fantastic manor to the buyer . I was so impressed with him that I have been using him ever since .

Pat Starnes, Brandon, MS  I did call this inspector he insisted the electrical system was sparking and faulty and would not touch it .  FALSE  a licensed electrician was called in and put the panel back on .   Seemed his sale would be a problem from start to finish rather move on .

Thank you both for your profession input

Hannah

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 4 months ago

As the listing agent, I usually let the home inspector in and and also show up at the end while he is still talking to the buyer. Gives me an idea what my seller is up against. Home inspectors in California are not licensed, just belong to trade associations, so there can be a wide difference of service. Generally, I've had good experiences.

Posted by Hella M. Rothwell, Broker/Realtor®, Rothwell Realty Inc. CA#01968433 Carmel-by-the-Sea 3 months ago

Our Florida contracts specify that Buyer can do the inspection, but has to bring the property to the same order it was before at their expense.

 

Posted by Jon Zolsky, Daytona Beach, FL, Buy Daytona condos for heavenly good prices (Daytona Condo Realty, 386-405-4408) 3 months ago

Hella M. Rothwell, Broker/Realtor®  I used to do the same as you but found it was not necessary when the agent was present . After this experience I will continue to open and close .

Jon Zolsky, Daytona Beach, FL  I will have to add this clause  to my contracts

Thank you both for your professional input

Hannah

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 3 months ago

Here is how it's written in our contract:

"Buyer shall be responsible for prompt payment for such inspections, for repair of damage to, and restoration of, the Property resulting from such inspections, and shall provide Seller with paid receipts for all work done on the Property"

Posted by Jon Zolsky, Daytona Beach, FL, Buy Daytona condos for heavenly good prices (Daytona Condo Realty, 386-405-4408) 3 months ago

Good evening Hannah Williams,

I'm so glad that Debbie Reynolds re-blogged your post. Some home I missed it. It's such a shame that you encountered this mis-hap with your inspection on your listing. Should not have happened.

Posted by Dorie Dillard CRS GRI ABR, Serving Buyers & Sellers in NW Austin Real Estate (Coldwell Banker United Realtors® ~ 512.346.1799) 3 months ago

This goes to show why we always have a team member attend ALL home inspections.

Posted by Michelle Carr-Crowe Just Call 408-252-8900 Top 1%!, Family Helping Families Buy & Sell Homes 40+ Years (Get Results Team...Just Call (408) 252-8900! . DRE #00901962 . Licensed to Sell since 1985 . Altas Realty) 3 months ago

Jon Zolsky, Daytona Beach, FL  Thanks for the info

Dorie Dillard  Let me tell you the seller called the buyer's agent and gave her a piece of her mind . It really did not do any good as the agent just thought the seller was wacko

Michelle Carr-Crowe-Top 1% Diamond Certified Real Estate Team Sells Cupertino San Jose Homes-Just Call 408-252-8900  I like to give the buyer and the agent the respect of privicy . If the buyer's agent is not going to be present then I will be present . The sellers were there at the start of the inspection but also saw the buyer's agent and felt they should leave but did come back the next day where they found the house in it's condition.. We were shocked that the agent would not call to alert us

.Let me ask you a question would you as a buyer's agent have called the listing agent to inform them of the condition of how the house was left ?

thank you for your professional opinion

Hannah

Posted by Hannah Williams, Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818 (Re/Max Eastern inc.) 3 months ago

Participate